Healthy Tuna Melt

Tuna melt | Fefferfit

I always forget about canned tuna, when I think about protein sources. I’ve always got a few cans in my pantry for the kids. It’s inexpensive, quick, and easy. 
Tuna sandwiches on squishy white bread were a beloved staple of my childhood. If I was feeling really grown-up, I would pan-toast one with about two tablespoons of butter. What’s not to love?! I’ve updated my childhood favorite, here, to make it more healthy, but still keeping things all that melty middled, buttery-toasted goodness!
Healthy Tuna Melts

  • Two slices Food for Life Ezekiel 4:9 bread
  • Three ounces canned tuna packed in water, drained well
  • 1 T Best Foods mayo (you can use low-fat, but it has added sugars and I figure 1 T of full fat here and there isn’t doing anyone harm)
  • 1 big pinch shredded cheese
  • 1/2 T butter, spread thinly on outside for toasting

Instructions

  1. Heat a small skillet over medium heat.
  2. Mix drained tuna, mayo, and cheese and spread evenly on one slice of bread. Top with the other. 
  3. Butter outsides of bread slices thinly. Cook sandwich, watching carefully, for 3-5 minutes per side. 

Slice in half and serve warm! 

Nutrition: 

One thought on “Healthy Tuna Melt

Comment or ask a question here!

