New Chest Dumbbell Workout

Oh, hey, I popped on here today and realized that with all the moving hullaballoo, I totally spaced posting the rest of my updated dumbbell workouts! I’m so sorry! Here’s chest day, and the rest are coming this week. Chest and delts (coming in a couple of days) are my absolute favorite, so I hope you enjoy them as much as I do!

CHEST DAY

New dumbbell chest workout | Fefferfit

As with all my other updated workouts, I’m starting with ab work here. I use good ol’ sit ups on chest day, because I get a little fancier on other days. I’ve found that, for me, crunches are fairly useless, but sit-ups work the whole midsection of my abdominal floor, and my lower abs get particularly sore. Yay for the plain-old sit up! I have 35 marked here, but do as many as you can until your abs are wiped out.

Lifts:

  • Dumbbell decline press
  • Push Ups – I’m doing one set of push ups after 3 sets of each lift. It breaks up the push ups and gives me a rest. Do whatever variation of push ups works for you. Note: press lifts and push ups are all push exercises, which can definitely wear you out quickly. I like concentrating on push muscles, but if you’d prefer more variety, you can substitute a set of inverted rows for each set of push ups.
  • Dumbbell incline press
  • Dumbbell bench press
  • Dumbbell flyes

Lifting usually takes me about 25 minutes, and then I do 20 min of HIIT intervals on the treadmill. You could bike, swim, jump rope, whatever! I’m currently doing 60 sec work/90 rest for hit. You can do 30/60, 30/90, 60/60…whatever works for you. Just don’t rest so long that your heart rate isn’t elevated anymore before you work again.

I currently use 12.5-17.5 lbs dumbbells on chest day. This is just a reference point, and you may want less or more. Keep in mind that I’ve been lifting for a couple of years. What’s important is choosing the right weight for you, focusing on proper form with those weights, releasing each lift slowly, and making sure you’re using enough weight that your muscles are failing in the last few reps. You should see great results!

If you have questions, comments or suggestions, let me know!

Comment or ask a question here!

