Lazy Picadillo Burritos

Wednesdays, around here, have turned into our busy night. The boys have scouts in the evenings, J has phone-conferenced meetings with the other side of the world, and Little Miss is taking an art class in the afternoons that’s across town. Add those things together, and they make finding time to cook dinner a little tricky!

As an aside, have I mentioned how much I love my trusty crock pot? I love it so much, and have been using it so much, lately, that I literally loved it to death! Last week, we heard a crack and discovered that my 15-year-old pot had finally given up, and cracked its little power knob clean through. I took it as a sign to get wild, blow $30, and spring for a big, new fancy programmable model with buttons and a warmer function. Oooh.

image

This week, I broke it in by making Picadillo, which I make as only a truly lazy/pressed for time human can: no browning of meat, and microwave streaming any veggies that are supposed to be sautéed. I feel like the whole point of using a crock pot is not to have to COOK, so if I’m getting out pans, something in the recipe needs adjusting.

I’m sharing my version of Picadillo here, along with all the fixings I use to serve it. It makes an excellent, tasty, easy meal that the whole family will love!

Lazy Picadillo Burritos

  • 2 1/2 lbs 93% lean ground beef (lean is really important here)
  • 1 cup diced onion
  • 1 cup diced red bell pepper
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/4 cup cilantro, chopped
  • 1 small tomato, diced
  • 8 oz can tomato sauce
  • 1/4 cup manzanilla olives
  • 2 tsp ground cumin
  • 1/4 tsp garlic powder
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 1 tsp kosher salt
  • 1/2 tsp freshly ground pepper

Instructions

  1. Place the meat in the crock pot and break it up with a couple of forks
  2. Put the onions, peppers, and garlic in a bowl covered with plastic wrap and cook on high for about 5 minutes, or until soft. Add to crock pot.
  3. Add all remaining ingredients and give a few careful folds. You don’t want to pack the meat together, so go lightly and try to toss rather than stir.
  4. Cook 3-4 hours on high or 6-8 on low.
  5. Serve with all your faves for burrito night! I like:
  • Ole! Xtreme Wellness High Fiber tortillas (La Tortilla Factory work, too, but I’m not a fan of their texture)
  • Power greens or spinach
  • Jack or Cheddar cheese
  • Salsa for the grown-ups
  • a little sour cream.

image

This serves about 12 people, if I had to guess. The 6 of us had dinner, including my teenage boys, and still had about half left over to put in the freezer for a really fast dinner later. So you could always halve the recipe, or yay for leftovers!

Adapted from a recipe on Skinnytaste.

Comment or ask a question here!

