Crock Pot Massaman Curry

When I asked my kids last week what they wanted to eat for Easter dinner, I was shocked when my oldest requested curry! He was vetoed by his twin brother (and, silently, his mom–I guess I’m a traditionalist at heart??), but I was more than happy to put it on the menu this week, especially since this version cooks in the slow-cooker and takes about five minutes of my time!

Crock Pot Massaman Curry | Fefferfit

Crock Pot Massaman Curry 

  • 2 medium Yukon Gold or red potatoes, peeled and cut in large chunks
  • 1 smallish sweet potato, peeled and cut in medium chunks
  • 1 small onion, coarsely chopped
  • 2 tsp olive oil
  • 1 pound boneless skinless chicken breasts or thighs
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 14-oz can lite coconut milk
  • 1/4 cup peanut butter (I’m really liking the new Natural Jif!)
  • 2 tbsp garam masala
  • 1 tbsp curry powder
  • 1 tsp lemongrass paste
  • 3 tbsp Thai fish sauce
  • 1 tbsp brown sugar
  • 1 1/2 tsp kosher salt
  • 1-2 cups chicken broth
  • 1/2 cup unsalted, dry-roasted peanuts to serve (I forgot these above! D’oh!)
  • Rice of your choice to serve; I love Trader Joe’s cauliflower rice!

Instructions:

  1. Place chopped potatoes and onion in slow cooker.
  2. In a medium skillet over medium-high heat, brown the chicken and garlic in oil and place in slow cooker. Keep fat and drippings in pan.
  3. Return the skillet to medium-high and stir the coconut milk, peanut butter, garam masala, and curry powder into the reserved chicken drippings. Cook and stir until the peanut butter melts.
  4. Pour the coconut sauce into the slow cooker and add all remaining ingredients. If liquid does not nearly cover chicken and vegetables, add more chicken broth until it does. Cook on low 4-6 hours, until sweet potatoes are fork tender. Serve over rice and garnish with chopped peanuts

Notes: If I’m making this for my kids, I swap the spices and do 1 tbsp garam masala and 2 tbsp curry. It’s a lot more mild this way. Also, shhh, don’t tell, but sometimes I skip all the steps with the skillet and just chop and dump all the ingredients in the crock pot. I’ll even chop the chicken still frozen! Browning the chicken, et al, does add extra flavor, but I’m really lazy.

Serves 6. Nutrition Facts (not including rice): 

Massaman Curry nutrition | Fefferfit

Comment or ask a question here!

