Strong: Stage 2

Today is the day. Shall we?

Back at it | Fefferfit
Back at it!

Remember:

  • Weights that produce fatigue after all reps are done each set
  • Printable training logs here and book here
  • If you haven’t taken progress pics (or before shots!) yet, today is a good day for that!
  • Note: There’s a Special Workout in the program that goes between Stages 1 & 2. Make sure you don’t skip that–it’s important for comparison later!

Workout A:

10 minutes RAMP (If I’m honest, this is more like 3-5 minutes for me.)

Core –
Plank with cable pulldown, 1-2 sets x 12 reps

Strength – 
Alternate sets of these two exercises:
Reverse lunge, 2-3 sets x 10 reps
Inverted row, 2-3 sets x 10 reps

Alternate  sets of these two exercises:
Romanian deadlift, 2-3 sets x 10 reps
Push-ups (I still do mine on a box bc I have a bust/short arm issue), 2-3 sets x 10 reps

Intervals –
5 sets 60 seconds work, 90 seconds rest. Add one interval each week (week 1 will be 5 sets, week 2 you’ll do 6, etc). Remember that intervals can be running, cycling, jumping jacks, burpees, stairs, boxing, jumprope, etc.

 

Workout B:

10 minutes RAMP

Core –
Side plank with row, 1-2 sets x 12 reps

Strength – 
Alternate sets of these two exercises:
Suspended lunge & touch OR Single leg Romanian deadlift, 2-3 sets x 10 reps
Dumbbell bench press, 2-3 sets x 10 reps

Alternate sets of these two exercises:
Front squat*, 2-3 sets x 10 reps
Standing single-arm cable (or resistance band) row, 2-3 sets x 10 reps

*Yep, I totally bought a barbell. A 6′ long standard bar–as opposed to Olympic, which has a 2″ hole, whereas all my weight plates are standard 1″–ran me $39.99 at my local sporting goods store. I don’t have a rack for back squats or bench press yet, but I’ll figure that out soon! If you don’t have one, you can do dumbbell front squats. These have historically been difficult for me, simply because it’s been hard for me to clean enough weight for a good squat up to my shoulders with dumbbells without hurting myself. If they work for you, great! Otherwise, goblet squats will work your body in a similar manner. 

Intervals –
5 sets 60 seconds work, 90 seconds rest. Again, add one interval each week (week 1 will be 5 sets, week 2 you’ll do 6, etc).

Comment or ask a question here!

