Workout Review: Strong

The last couple of weeks have been ridiculous: we had a bit of a trauma hit at our house, which turned into “I can barely remember how to feed everyone and where did I put that thing I was holding and oh maybe I should shower now that it’s 4 pm?!” When that started to settle a bit and I was thinking I’d work out the next day, I got a kidney infection! Hahaha!

Now that I am starting to feel better, I’m almost two weeks overdue to start Stage 2 of Strong. I’m going to start Friday, and a post on the Stage 2 workout is coming. In the meantime, let’s review how it’s been working, so far.

Strong Stage 1 Weight Loss | Fefferfit

This here is my weight loss after three weeks of Strong: Stage 1. Weight loss is (obviously) going to be variable for everyone, but my body usually struggles to lose more than 1/2 pound a week, no matter what kind of exercise I’m doing. Note that this is more than double that, at just over 1 pound a week.

Here’s how many times/week I actually did the program (in yellow or yellow+green):

Strong Workout Calendar | Fefferfit

  • Week 1: 1 time, plus two 30 minute runs (wow, go me)
  • Week 2: 2 times
  • Week 3: Nada. Played non-competitive volleyball one day.
  • Week 4: 2 times, plus yoga once

So clearly, I was working super hardWhat I’m trying to say is: I was not killing myself for these results. I usually lift at least 2x a week, and I didn’t even average that. This program works that well for my body!

When I do a Strong workout, I usually burn between 300-400 calories. That’s as many as I burn on a 2.5 mile run, but the great thing is that they’re burned at a slightly lower heart rate, so they’re burning more fat. I’m seeing that proven on the scale, and in the way my clothes fit, so that’s pretty awesome.

Polar Strong workout | Fefferfit
Burn, baby!

I’m going to be honest and tell you that I do get a little bored with these workouts. I love the HIIT portion; I always do my intervals on a treadmill, just because I love to run and because it’s so accessible for me. They go quickly and I feel like a beast when I’m finished. The lifting portion, though, is a challenge for a lifter who’s used to programs that rotate through five or six different muscle groups each workout. Strong only swaps between two workouts for a whole month, so they get stale quickly. That said, it’s hard not to be aware of how complex each lift is and how many muscle groups each is working. That complexity changes the shape and strength of the muscles quickly, and that motivates me to stay with it. The results are a huge motivator, too. I am definitely looking forward to a change this month, though.

Overall, I’m feeling positive and excited about the Strong program. I’m down 4 pounds total this month! I’ve busted through a major plateau! My body is changing! I’ll be posting my plan for Strong: Stage 2 on Friday morning: are you ready? Let’s see where it takes us next!

Comment or ask a question here!

