Five Easy, Healthy Dinners

Usually when I cook, I tweak recipes, a little. I know what I like, and even when a recipe is new to me, as I’m tasting things, I add a little here or take out a little there. Then there are the food preferences, the dietary issues…know what I mean? But once in a while, I hit upon a recipe that is *perfect,* exactly as it is!

Five Easy Healthy Recipes | Fefferfit

Here are five dinners that were a grand slam at our house, exactly as written. They also happen to be easy to prep, fabulously healthy, under 400 calories/normal-human-sized serving, and insulin-resistance friendly! But most importantly, they taste amazing. I hope you love them, too! Thanks so much to these lovely food bloggers for sharing their amazing talents so I can make healthy food for my family–and then share with you!

pork-loin_300
Photo and recipe courtesy Real Simple

Pork Loin with Mustard Sauce and Sauteed Squash

I just made this for the third of fourth time on Sunday, and I’m not sure I’ve ever seen my daughter inhale food so quickly! Just make sure you sear the roast–it makes all the difference, and it only takes about 8 minutes. The whole dinner takes about 15 minutes of effort, and the pork roasts in 40 minutes while you nap. Or something.

My serving (with about 3.5 oz pork) was about 330 cal, 28 g protein, 12 g carb, & 18 g fat. 

hearty-black-bean-and-sweet-potato-turkey-chili-from-our-best-bites
Photo and recipe courtesy Our Best Bites

 

Black Bean and Sweet Potato Turkey Chili

Dear Our Best Bites girls:

I love your guts. Whenever I make something from your blog, my family is happy, and it’s all I can do not to rush up and hug Sara every time I see her in Costco. But that would be weird, so you’re welcome. But thank you for this recipe. And, you know. All of them.

Guys, this is the best chili EVER. And I love chili! But there’s something about having that sweet, creamy hit of sweet potato in it that changes everything. Add the squeeze of lime. It brightens everything.

My bowl came to about 210 cal, 15 g protein, 23 g carb, & 7 g fat. 

waffle2bencrusted2bchicken-2
Photo and recipe courtesy Skinnytaste

Waffle Crusted Chicken with Spicy Maple Sauce

I will admit, this recipe sounded awesome and I could not pin it fast enough, but I was skeptical. I was totally blown out of the water when I made it! In fact, it’s been about a month, and it’s about time I made it again. We absolutely inhaled this chicken, and this family is nearly bored to tears with chicken. It was delicious! Note: I just gave my kids regular syrup, but J and I used the spicy maple sauce and it was fantastic. A side of broccoli was great here.

My serving was about 199 cal, 29 g protein, 13 g carb, & 5 g fat. 

5265603adbfa3f0cc4005c49-_w-540_s-fit_
Photo and recipe courtesy The Kitchn

Slow-Cooked Boeuf Bourguignon

Between Julia Child and Ina Garten, I already have two amazing Boeuf Bourguignon recipes, but I had to try the slow-cooker version. I tend to think the slow-cooker sometimes waters down recipes like this, creating too much brother and making the meat flavorless, but this recipe does a lot to mitigate most of those issues. I was impressed! If you need to be able to leave your dinner to cook all day, this is the recipe I’d recommend, for sure. It was pretty danged delicious!

My bowl was about 365 cal, 34 g protein, 6 g carb, & 22 g fat. 

slow-cooker-balsamic-chicken-foodiecrush-com-054
Photo and recipe courtesy Foodiecrush

Slow Cooker Balsamic Chicken

Foodiecrush is my foodie crush. The photos! The recipes! Oh, man, I don’t think she’s ever posted anything that didn’t make me salivate immediately. Slow cooker? Pomegratate, balsamic, and rosemary? I’m in.

This makes THE MOST GLORIOUS sauce. You’ll want quinoa or mashed potatoes or something to soak up all that savory, balsamic-y richness. This stuff is crazy good. Note: any leftover chicken is crazy good on a salad.

My serving (one thigh, feel free to go for more.) was about 225 cal, 18 g protein, 25 g carb, & 6 g fat. 

Comment or ask a question here!

