Sizzling Chicken Fajitas with Tangy Southwest Slaw

Am I the only one out there who does a little happy dance in my chair when I’m eating really awesome food?

Chicken Fajitas | Fefferfit

These fajitas made me do a happy dance.

It’s pretty rare that I don’t love anything Deb over at Smitten Kitchen cooks up. Our tastes don’t always align, but if one of her recipes piques my interest, then I know her flavor profiles will be spot-on for me.

But THESE PICKLED ONIONS. Friends. You need these in your life. I’m making them for every taco/fajita situation I encounter from now on. And seriously–you just chuck some sliced onions in a Ziploc in a vinegar solution and let them marinate. The chicken has to marinate anyway. So it’s no big deal, right?  And they are WORTH IT.

These Sizzling Chicken Fajitas are so fabulous because of all the layers of flavor–the seasoned chicken, the creamy coleslaw, the tangy onions, and all those great condiments we love on Mexican food. All the textures together make something pretty fantastic, too.

Just go make them. You’ll see. And if you want your slaw to have a little more zip, you can make it the way I did.

Tangy Southwest Slaw

  • 1/4 head purple cabbage, shredded
  • 2 grated carrots
  • 2 green onions, sliced thinly
  • 1/4 cup mayo
  • 1/2 T sugar or substitute
  • 1/2 T kosher salt
  • Juice from 1/2 lime (you can slice up the other half to squeeze on your tacos!)
  • 1 1/2 T red wine vinegar

Toss everything together within an hour before serving dinner.

Serve in a low-carb tortilla and you’ve got a great insulin-resistance-friendly meal. I had three of these, which clocked in (the way I stacked mine) at just over 500 calories, and I was STUFFED!

Comment or ask a question here!

