How I Eat from the Drive-Thru and Still Lose Weight

I have insulin resistance. I’m trying to lose weight.

I’m also a real human. I have four kids and I run errands and cart them all over and I end up starving for lunch while I’m out.

Me and the kids summer | Fefferfit

Sometimes I just need the ease of a drive through. I need to be able to feed four little humans what they want and still eat something that won’t blow my whole day. And you KNOW there is no way I pack a lunch with me every time I leave the house, right?

So here’s what I eat. These are all great, fairly healthy options, and they’re balanced for insulin resistance. Even if you don’t have IR, they’re pretty darned good ideas if you’re trying to keep your calories down and eat healthy. Or mostly healthy. 😉

Del Taco:

Del Taco Chicken Soft Tacos | Fefferfit

Jack in the Box:

Jack in the Box Chicken Fajita Pita | Fefferfit
I don’t do salsa, but you could!

McDonald’s:

McDonald's Egg McMuffin | Fefferfit
I prefer homemade, but sometimes you just gotta do the drive-thru. When you do, eat this.

Wendy’s:

Wendy's Jr. Bacon Cheeseburger | Fefferfit
Sometimes I need a burger. Sometimes I splurge and don’t care about macros, but other times I eat this and feel virtuous.

Chick-Fil-A:

Chick-Fil-A Grilled Nuggets | Fefferfit
When I can feel a headache coming on, I need protein and FAST. This is so much better than fried nuggets, and they taste great!
Chick-Fil-A Soup & Salad | Fefferfit
When I have time to sit down or take lunch home, this is my preferred option. (It says 43g carbs, but remember that fiber doesn’t count!)

When I just need a snack:  

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough QuestBar | Fefferfit
OK, not from the drive-thru, but I try to remember to keep a QuestBar in my purse for emergencies, and often that’s enough to get me through. Cookie dough is my favorite!

I can also usually find pistachios or a good Greek yogurt in any convenience store or at Target (surely I’m not the only one who’s in there every week, right?). That’ll do!

Domino’s Pizza:

Domino's Thin Crust Pepperoni Pizza | Fefferfit
After all that running around, you deserve a guilt-free pizza night!

Cafe Zupas:

Cafe Zupas Honey Bacon Club & Mushroom Bisque | Fefferfit
Or a relaxed, warm, melty dinner. Enjoy!

I hope this gives you a few ideas! What do you eat when you’re out running around?

Comment or ask a question here!

